Contributions through Administration (Select)

Contribution to National and State Level Committees

  • Expert, Faculty Selection Committee
    IIT Bombay (2016,2018)
    IIT Hyderabad (2013, 2016, 2018,2019)
    IIT Guwahati (2011)
    NIT Calicut (2017, 2018)
    National University of Allahabad (2013)
    NEHU, Shillong (2013)
  • Expert, BIRAC evaluations, current
  • Expert, Advisory committee for Biotechnology, Anna University, current
  • Expert, National project on Virtual Labs, current
  • Expert, Board of Studies, College of Engineering and Technology, Bhubaneswar, current
  • Reviewer for prestigious National awards (e.g. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award) and chair professor positions (IIT Bombay)
  • Member, National Advisory Board, Golden Jubilee International Conference on Chemical Engineering, NIT Durgapur (2015)
  • Expert, Review of Centers of Excellence, MHRD (2014)
  • Member, Academic Committee, Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute of Medical Sciences and Technology, Trivandrum, 2008 – 2013
  • Expert, New Drug Approval committee, Drug Controller General of India (2013)
  • Member, Board of Studies, SASTRA University, Thanjavur, 2008
  • Expert, Faculty Selection Committee, University Institute of Chemical Technology (UICT) – Energy Biosciences, Mumbai(2009); IIT Roorkee (2012)
  • Expert, Indo-Canadian conference on Algal Bioenergy, 2008
  • Member, Selection Committees for Scientist positions, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, 2008
  • Member, Committees constituted by Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR) to evaluate industrial laboratories for certification, many times
  • Expert, Curriculum Committee for Biotechnology, NIT Kozhikode(2008) NIT Warangal(2007)
  • Expert, AICTE National Accreditation Committee for KRS college, 2008
  • Member, Working Group to provide inputs for the next five year plan, Tamilnadu State Council for Science and Technology, 2006

Contribution to Self-governance: Institute and Department Administrative Positions

At/From IIT Madras

  • Department Head (first formal head), Department of Biotechnology, 1st Aug 2005 – 3rd Aug 2008 (contributed significantly toward the set-up of the new Department)
  • Department Head (first formal head), Department of Biotechnology, IIT Hyderabad, 2009 – 2011
    (played an important role in the initiation of the new Department)
  • Head, Sophisticated Analytical Instrument Facility, IIT Madras, 2009 – 2013
  • Institute Coordinator, Joint academic programmes with Sree Chitra Thirunal Institute of Medical Sciences and Technology and Christian Medical College, Vellore, 2006 – 2012 (Initiated the program and coordinated it through the crucial first 5 years)
  • Discipline Coordinator, Biotechnology, IIT Madras, for NPTEL, 2008 – 2010
  • Chairperson, Institute Prizes, Awards and Scholarships Senate sub-committee, IIT Madras, 2009 – 2010; ex-officio member, 2010 – 2011
  • Member, Board of Academic Courses, 2004-2005; 2009-2011
  • Coordinator, User-oriented M.Tech. Programme in Medical Biotechnology, 2004 – 2005
  • Member, Biotechnology Executive Committee, 2004-2005, and many other Departmental committees.
  • Treasurer, National Symposium on Molecular Basis of Diseases, 2004.

At IIT Bombay

  • Warden, Hostel 10, 2002-2004
  • Member, School Policy Committee (SPC), School of Biosciences andBioengineering, 2002-2004
  • Member, Institute Undergraduate Programmes Committee (UGPC), 2000-2002
  • Member, Department Policy Committee (DPC), 2003-2004
  • Member, Department Postgraduate Committee (DPGC), 2000-2002
  • And many others … For example, Faculty Adviser, M.Tech. students, 2000-2002; B.Tech. class, 1994-1998; Time-table coordinator, 1998-2002; Treasurer, Conference of the Electron Microscopy Society of India, 2001-02, Chemical Engineering Students Association, 1997-2001; Secretary, Department Faculty Meeting, 1994-1999; Member, Department Computer Resources Committee, 1995-1997; Coordinator, B. Tech. Practical Training and Works Visits, 1995-1996.